top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhonan Colquhoun

F1: McLaren reveal the MCL36 as Norris extends contract

BRITISH driver Lando Norris will continue to race for McLaren F1 until the end of the 2025 F1 Season as the eight-time Constructor's Champion unveiled their 2022 challenger.


Norris, 22, made his debut with the British team in 2019 after finishing runners-up in the 2018 FIA F2 Championship.

The Brit has been connected to the team since 2017 after being part of their Young Driver Academy.

He went onto finish a career-best of sixth in the Driver's Championship as he raked-up four podium finishes along with with a maiden Pole Position. The Brit came close to winning his maiden race but stayed out a lap too late as heavy rain poured on the Sochi track towards the end of the Russian GP.

Norris said: “Last season was another great step, both in my career and the team’s performance, and I see and feel all the work, investment and commitment for the team to be in a position to challenge for wins and titles in the future."

"This all gives me huge confidence looking forward, so it was a natural decision to extend our relationship for the next few years.”

McLaren became the fourth official Formula One team to reveal their machinery ahead of the upcoming 2022 Season.

Revealing their livery from their factory in Woking, the car features a new design that marries papaya orange with a new shade of blue.

The team dropped to fourth in the Constructor's Championship after losing out to old-rivals Ferrari as the teams went toe-to-toe throughout the season in the battle to finish third.

However, despite losing out to the Scuderia, the Woking team managed to secure their first win in the sport since 2012 - courtsey of Daniel Ricciardo.

The Australian led home Norris in a one-two finish at the Italian GP - marking the only one-two finish by a team that season.

McLaren retain Ricciardo alongside Norris for the upcoming season and hope the new regulations will allow them to bring home their first Constructor's title since 1998 and their first Driver's title since 2008.


bottom of page